The Dance Department at SPCPA offers students from all backgrounds rigorous, culturally relevant, joyous training geared toward the serious aspiring dance artist. Professional working artists guide students on their journey through the program, helping them realize their technical, artistic, social, and intellectual potential. Throughout their time at SPCPA students study a range of dance forms including: Modern/Contemporary, Breaking, West African, Ballet, Jazz, Tap, Vogue, Contemporary Indian, and Funk Styles. In addition, Improvisation, Composition, History, Anatomy, and Production courses encourage students to contextualize dance socially and historically; explore their personal movement identities; and develop their emerging choreographic practices. While at SPCPA students can take advantage of many performing opportunities, including formal and informal showings, annual J-Term concerts, and the senior choreographed and produced capstone performance. 

Students graduate from the dance program with broad experience in physical movement practices as well as the tools to work hard, think critically, and collaborate openly. These skills, manifested through a deep and embodied awareness of themselves, allow students to confidently transition not only into post-secondary college dance programs or professional dance practices, but whichever professional field of study awaits them. No matter what our graduates go on to pursue after SPCPA, they quite literally move in and change the world through dance.

CURRENT STUDENTS:  Google Site   CLICK HERE

Dance Faculty

Sam Johnson Dance Department Chair johnsons@spcpa.org
Lisa Berman Dance bermanl@spcpa.org
Bruce DeMorrow Dance demorrowb@spcpa.org
Alex Eady Dance eadya@spcpa.org
Penelope Freeh Dance freehp@spcpa.org
Timothy Herian Dance heriant@spcpa.org
Joseph James Dance jamesj@spcpa.org
Judith James Ries Dance jamesriesj@spcpa.org
Erinn Liebhard Dance liebharde@spcpa.org
Jill Lile Dance lilej@spcpa.org
Whitney McClusky Dance mccluskyw@spcpa.org
Jennifer Pray Dance prayj@spcpa.org
Laura Selle Virtucio Dance sellevirtuciol@spcpa.org
Scott Stafford Dance staffords@spcpa.org
Darrius Strong Dance strongd@spcpa.org
Joseph Tran Dance tranj@spcpa.org

Dance Program Handbook

CLICK HERE to view the Dance Program Handbook in PDF format