Dance

 

The Dance Department offers students a rigorous, versatile training geared toward the serious aspiring dance artist. Students are guided in their education by working artists who help them realize their potential technically, artistically, and intellectually. The Conservatory’s training is modeled on college-level B.F.A. dance programs and, as such, successful graduates of the Conservatory’s Dance Department transition easily into arts programs at post-secondary institutions. Dance students prescribe to a practice of self-discipline and artistry, and maintain the highest respect for themselves, their peers, their instructors, and their art.

 The curriculum is designed to create versatile dancers by training all students each semester in both ballet and modern dance. Supporting classes include both Jazz and Hip-Hop, which are offered for most students every other semester. All students across all grade levels will also take a Repertory class, in which students learn choreography and develop performance skills. Students in grades 10-12 will also take the semester-long class, Choreolab, in which they will learn how to make a dance piece.  On Fridays, World Dance forms are studied to develop a global understanding of dance. Students will also take Dance Studies each year, which includes units on dance history, dance writing, anatomy, and nutrition. Dance Studies allows students to develop a scholarly and articulate understanding of dance and its role in culture and society.

To see the four year plan of coursework for the Dance track, CLICK HERE.

_

Dance Faculty

Gabriel Anderson Dance Department Chair andersong@spcpa.org
Sarah Baumert Dance sbaumert@spcpa.org
Kaitin Kelly Benedict Dance benedictk@spcpa.org
Maggie Bergeron Dance bergeronm@spcpa.org
Lisa Berman Dance bermanl@spcpa.org
Penelope Freeh Dance freehp@spcpa.org
Timothy Herian Dance heriant@spcpa.org
Judith James Ries Dance jamesriesj@spcpa.org
Sam Johnson Dance johnsons@spcpa.org
Michelle Lemon Dance lemonm@spcpa.org
Jill Lile Dance lilej@spcpa.org
Whitney McClusky Dance mccluskyw@spcpa.org
Lela Pierce Dance piercel@spcpa.org
Jennifer Pray Dance prayj@spcpa.org
Djenane Saint Juste Dance saintjusted@spcpa.org
Laura Selle Virtucio Dance sellevirtuciol@spcpa.org
Stephen Schroeder Dance schroeders@spcpa.org
Crystal Secor Dance secorc@spcpa.org
Darrius Strong Dance strongd@spcpa.org
Joseph Tran Dance tranj@spcpa.org
Roxane Wallace Dance wallacer@spcpa.org
Maggie Zepp Dance zeppm@spcpa.org

Dance Curriculum

CLICK HERE to view the 1617 Universal Dance Syllabus in PDF format.

Dance Program Handbook

CLICK HERE to view the Dance Program Handbook in PDF format.

Dance Events

CLICK HERE for SPCPA Dance Events
.